KCCC connects 78 organisations across the UK in making Climate Declaration

Typhoon photo






Kirklees Campaign Against Climate Change has connected 78 organisations in signing up to a climate declaration.

Tipping Point Declaration (signatory groups) is an eight point statement about the causes and impacts of climate change now and in the future.

78 organisations, many of them small local groups, signed up to the Declaration. The full list appears at the bottom of the article.

The Declaration has been released today to the national press. Copies were also sent to senior figures in the worlds of politics, industry and finance. These were (full list appears at the bottom of the article):

  • Leaders of Westminster Parties
  • Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change and his Shadow spokespersons at Westminster
  • Chief Executives of companies involved in fossil fuels, including some involved in fracking in the UK [Anglo American plc, BASF, BG Group plc, BHP Billiton plc, BP plc, Centrica plc, Cuadrilla Resources Ltd, Dart Energy (Europe), IGas Energy plc, Rio Tinto plc, Shell U.K. Limited, Tullow Oil Plc, Glencore Xstrata plc]
  • Chief Executives of companies financing fossil fuel extraction [Barclays plc, HSBC Holdings plc, Lloyds Banking Group, The Royal Bank of Scotland Group, Standard Chartered Bank]
Thank you to Amin for designing this logo

Thank you to Amin for designing this logo

Its release is timed to respond to the latest section of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change report, focusing on ‘Impacts, Adaptation and Variability’. On 31st March, the Chair of the IPCC, Rajendra Pachauri declared, ‘Climate change is happening and no-one in the world is immune.’

We have found it inspiring to see this collection of organisations, many of them very small, coming together to make this clear collective statement on climate change.

We are continuing to work on the Tipping Point Declaration locally. Individuals from within the Kirklees area are welcome to send us their name, house number and postcode to have a copy of the Declaration sent to their local representatives. We will respect your privacy and will not publish this publically. https://kirkleescampaignagainstclimatechange.wordpress.com/2014/01/24/stand-up-for-the-scientists-and-sign-up-to-our-tipping-point-declaration


Tipping Point Declaration (signatory groups)

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Working Group 2 report, ‘Impacts, Adaptation and Variability’ http://www.ipcc.ch/

Media Coverage including statement by Rajendra Pachauri. http://www.independent.co.uk/environment/climate-change/ipcc-report-paints-bleak-picture-of-war-famine-and-pestilence-climate-change-is-happening-andno-one-in-the-world-is-immune-9224777.html

Signatory groups:

A Greener Hawick Home Grown Hornsea Sheffield World Development Movement Transition Malvern Hills
A World to Win Huddersfield Eco Action Team South Lakes Action on Climate Change Towards Transition (SLACC-TT) Transition Portishead
Bradford World Development Movement Keep It in the Ground-Sussex Stutton Green Energy Community Group Transition Sheffield
Calderdale World Development Movement Kirbymoorside Environment Group SENS (Sustainability and Energy Network for Staveley) Transition Town Brixton
Campaign Against Climate Change Kirklees Campaign Against Climate Change Sustainable Bury Transition Town Forres
Christian Ecology Link Leeds Tidal Sustainable Carlisle Transition Town Kingston
Climate Action Now Manchester Group of the World Development Movement Sustainable Pill and District Transition Town Llandeilo Tref Trawsnewid
Climate Friendly Bradford on Avon Mole Valley Green Party The Permaculture Association Transition Town Totnes
Cumbria Action for Sustainability Newbury Friends of the Earth Transition Belsize Transition Tufnell Park
Derbyshire Green Party North Herts Friends of the Earth Transition Berkhamstead Transition Tunbridge Wells
Edinburgh and the Lothians local WDM group Occupy London Transition Bridport Transition Walthamstow
Fossil Free Oxfordshire Divestment Campaign Oxford Flood Alliance Transition Chipping Norton UK Tar Sands Network
Friends of the Earth, Dumfries Oxford Quaker Meeting Environment and Economic Justice group Transition Durham Valley Wind Coop
Friends of the Earth Scotland, Glasgow group Oxfordshire Climate and Flooding Alliance Transition Falmouth Wanstead and Woodford Friends of the Earth
Greener Sax Peterborough in Transition Transition Haverfordwest West Dorset Friends of the Earth
Guildford, Woking and Waverley Friends of the Earth group Pewsey Environmental Action Team Transition Heathrow Weymouth and Portland Transition Town
Hereford Greenpeace Residents Action on Fylde Fracking (RAFF) Transition Helston and District Wiltshire Clean Energy Alliance
Herefordshire Friends of the Earth Roundhay Environmental Action Group (REAP) Transition Hull Winchester Action on Climate Change (WinACC)
Highgate Climate Action Network & Transition Sheffield Campaign Against Climate Change Transition Kentish Town World Development Movement Glasgow
Holmfirth Transition Town (HoTT) World Development Movement Shropshire


Leaders of Westminster Parties: David Cameron MP, Prime Minister and Leader of the Conservative Party; Ed Miliband MP, Leader of the Labour Party; Nick Clegg MP, Leader of the Liberal Democrats and Deputy Prime Minister; Peter Robinson MLA, DUP Leader & First Minister of Northern Ireland; Alex Salmond MSP, First Minister and Leader of the Scottish National Party; Gerry Adams TD,Leader of Sinn Féin; Leanne Wood AM, Leader of Plaid Cymru; Dr Alasdair McDonnell MP, MLA, SDLP Leader; David Ford MLA, Leader of the Alliance Party of Northern Ireland; Natalie Bennett, Leader of the Green Party; George Galloway MP,Leader of Respect Party

Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change and Shadow spokespersons at Westminster: Edward Davey MP (Lib Dem), Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change;Caroline Flint MP (Lab),Shadow Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change; Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP (DUP), Shadow Spokesperson for Energy and Climate Change); Mike Weir MP (SNP,) Shadow Spokesperson for Energy and Climate Change; Margaret Ritchie MP (SDLP), Shadow Spokesperson for Energy and Climate Change

Companies involved in fossil fuels: Mark Cutifani, Chief Executive Anglo American plc; Dr. Kurt Bock, Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors of BASF SE; Chris Finlayson, Chief Executive BG Group plc; Andrew Mackenzie, Chief Executive Officer BHP Billiton plc; Bob Dudley, Group Chief Executive BP plc; Sam Laidlaw, Chief Executive Centrica plc; Francis Egan, Chief Executive Cuadrilla Resources Ltd; John McGoldrick, Chief Executive Officer Dart Energy (Europe); Andrew Austin, Chief Executive Officer IGas Energy plc; Sam Walsh, Chief Executive Rio Tinto plc; Ben van Beurden, Chief Executive Officer Shell U.K. Limited; Aidan Heavey, Chief Executive Officer Tullow Oil Plc; Ivan Glasenberg, Chief Executive Officer Glencore Xstrata plc

Companies financing fossil fuel extraction: Antony Jenkins, Group Chief Executive Barclays plc; Stuart Gulliver, Group Chief Executive of HSBC Holdings plc; António Horta-Osório, Executive Director & Group Chief ExecutiveLloyds Banking Group; Ross McEwan, Chief Executive Officer The Royal Bank of Scotland Group; Peter Sands, Group Chief Executive Standard Chartered Bank

National press: Stuart Winter, Environment editor, Daily Express; Ben Spencer, Science and environment reporter, Daily Mail; Environment editor, Daily Star; Clive Cookson, Science editor, The Financial Times; John Vidal, Environment editor, The Guardian; Steve Connor, Science editor, The Independent and i; Environment editor, Metro; Mike Swain, Science and environment editor, The Mirror; Environment editor, Morning Star; Ben Jackson, Environment editor, The Sun; Geoffrey Lean, Environment editor, The Telegraph; Ben Webster, Environment editor, The Times  




Search tag: Tipping*point